by Jon Gillooly
04.26.10 – 11:00 pm

MARIETTA – The first day of qualifying for the July 20 primary election ballot brought few candidates out at the local level Monday, although the deadline is not until noon Friday.

Cobb Republican Party Chairman Scott Johnson said five Republicans qualified for local races. They are incumbent Barry Morgan for solicitor; former Kennesaw Mayor Leonard Church for the northwest District 1 county commission seat held by Helen Goreham; IT consultant Earl Stine, who is running for the northeast District 3 commission seat vacated by Tim Lee; IT analyst Tim Stulz for the Cobb Board of Education seat held by Democrat Holli Cash; and former Dodgen Middle School principal Jim Snell for the Cobb school board seat being vacated by Dr. John Crooks.

“Some candidates are out of town and told us they would be qualifying later in the week. However, there are some who are still making up their mind about whether or not to run. And I always look for some late week surprises,” Johnson said.

Will Fowlkes, chairman of the Cobb Democratic Party, said no Democrats qualified Monday at the local level, although he expects them to sign up as the week unfolds.

The Cobb GOP headquarters is located at 1234 Powers Ferry Road, Suite 105, between Delk and Terrell Mill roads. The Cobb Democrat headquarters is located at 166 Anderson St., Suite 113, two blocks off the Square.

For local seats in the Georgia Assembly

Of the five state Senate seats in Cobb County, four people qualified Monday, including:

* Incumbent Doug Stoner (D-Smyrna), 44, entrepreneur, District 6

* Incumbent Chip Rogers (R-Woodstock), 41, small business owner, District 21

* Incumbent John Wiles (R-Kennesaw), 52, an attorney, District 37

* Lynda Coker, 63, Cobb chief deputy sheriff, signed up for District 32, a seat held by state Sen. Judson Hill (R-east Cobb).

Of the 14 state House seats in Cobb County, only one is being vacated, that of state Rep. Rob Teilhet (D-Smyrna), who is running for state attorney general. Stacy Evans, 31, of Smyrna, an attorney, qualified as a Democrat for Teilhet’s District 40 seat.

Other state representative candidates to qualify were:

* Pat Dooley (D-Marietta), 63, whose District 38 seat is being challenged in the November election by Realtor and Republican Sam Teasley, 34

* David Wilkerson, 41, CPA, of Austell, for District 33, a seat held by Don Wix (D-Mableton), 63, who also qualified

* RuthE Levy, 57, of east Cobb, a Democrat for District 45, a seat held by Matt Dollar, 32, (R-east Cobb), who qualified

* Republican Jason Shepherd, 34, a public relations consultant vying for District 37, a seat held by Terry Johnson, 60, (D-Marietta), a real estate broker, who qualified.

The following six incumbents also signed up for another chance to represent their districts in the state House:

* Judy Manning (R-Marietta) 67, a real estate broker, District 32

* Rich Golick, (R-Smyrna) 43, an attorney, District 34

* Ed Setzler (R-Acworth), 40, engineering manager, District 35

* Earl Ehrhart (R-Powder Springs) 50, businessman, District 36

* Don Parsons (R-east Cobb), 62, businessman, telecommunications, District 42

* Bobby Franklin (R-east Cobb), 55, businessman, District 43

* Sharon Cooper (R-east Cobb), 67, medical administrator, District 41